Final schedule announced for Nanofabulous Winter Workshop 2018

Logo dark background FOR WEB_vvv

We have now finalised the schedule for next weeks event, please view this attachment to find out more.

The document also contains last minute information that will make it a little easier to find us.

View the information here

Prize draw – IP outcomes survey


ANFF-VIC is asking all users to fill out a 2-minute survey of IP outcomes between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2018.

In exchange for your input to this survey, you will be entered into a prize draw to win a $500 user credit to be applied to a future project at MCN. The survey closes on the 28 July.

As a requirement for ANFF’s ongoing operational support through the Federal NCRIS program, ANFF nodes around the country are asked to report back to the commonwealth on IP-outcomes derived from research activity at our respective sites. These metrics are particularly difficult to track as they are not accompanied by standard acknowledgements etc. that are traditionally used to highlight work conducted within our network.

As a result, we need your help to accumulate these statistics by filling in this quick survey outlining the types and numbers of IP outcomes you have generated as a result of your activities within ANFF-VIC.

Please find the survey here.

ANFF-VIC Staff selected in veski program

KarenDr Karyn Jarvis, a Research Engineer at the ANFF Victoria Biointerface Engineering Hub, has been selected as a participant in the veski STEM sidebyside program.

The initiative, led by veski and Monash University with the support of the British Consulate General Melbourne, supports women in the STEM industries. Keep your eyes peeled for more information.

View the program description here.

Open-access XPS Database exceeds 1600 spectra

La-Trobe-XPS-Hub-Header_FOR-WEBLa Trobe University’s open-access XPS reference library, XPSSurfA, has now exceeded 1600 reference spectra within 120 datasets.

Unveiled by researchers at La Trobe University’s Centre for Materials and Surface Science (CMSS) less than a year ago, the open-access online database of XPS spectra, providing a global reference point of in-depth materials analysis to researchers from around the world.

The database holds XPS information on a range of materials from pure metals to polymers, to compounds and oxides to exotic materials. The database is ever growing and evolving being filled with new data straight from CMSS’s Kratos Analytical AXIS Nova instrument.

All XPSSurfA records and data files in the database are available via Open Access under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC) 4.0 International License. This means any data file in the database can be downloaded to view, reuse, compare and publish alongside the user’s own research with appropriate attribution.

The XPSSurfA database is an initiative led by CMSS with the support of the NCRIS-funded organisations, the Australian National Data Service (ANDS) and the Nectar Cloud.

Find the database here.

2018 Technology Ambassadors announced

ANFF VIC TAsThe Victorian Node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility has expanded its list of Technology Ambassadors (TAs), making 2018 the biggest year yet.

The scheme now features 11 leaders in their field, up from 9 in 2017 and 2016.

Since the TA scheme was initiated in 2011, Ambassadors have been selected from a broad range of disciplines, each with their own unique demands for micro/nanotechnology.

In addition to their core research activities, ANFF-VIC TAs use their considerable expertise to create new processes that benefit the ANFF-VIC user community and undergo in-kind cooperative activities reflecting the current and emerging needs of researchers in their respective fields.

New Technology Ambassadors:         

Qialiang Bao

ARC for the Future Low-Energy Electronic Technologies (FLEET)

Anthony Chesman


Victor Busto Cadarso

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Monash University

Kenneth Crozier

Physics and Electronic Engineering

University of Melbourne


The year’s list of renewed TAs:

Alastair Stacey

School of Physics

University of Melbourne

Fiona Glenn

Manufacturing Business Unit


Saulius Juodkazis

Centre for Micro-Photonics

Swinburne University of Technology

Lingxue Kong

Institute for Frontier Materials (IFM)

Deakin University

Grant van Riessen

Institute for Molecular Science

La Trobe University

Udo Bach

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Monash University, Clayton

Wenlong Cheng

Department of Chemical Engineering

Monash University